A million times I slept. A million times I wept. A million times I lied. This time I could of died.

A million times I slept. A million times I wept.
A million times I lied. This time I could of died.

Hello, my name is Zachariah Atteberry. I have suffered chronic depression ever since I was 7. In earlier years I was dictated by a bipolar tyrant of 50 years old and my life turned into a crusading hell, he seldom every let me outside and punished me for unorthodox reasons. He often beat me and my mom due to anger problems and because he was $5000 in debt. Life was horrible back then. In fact, I was contemplating suicide and planned on killing myself, however I came to a personal consensus that It was a very atrocious idea. The most integral element of life implies that we must realize is that depression is a state of mind not a segment of reality. Once we realize this and identify that depression is part of our lives, we succeed in life..

Up to 15 years old I was treated like a rodent. After 15 my foster dad died. Then, my mom and I moved to a new house and we finally claimed our freedom. However, my depression still carried on from the old house. After my computer broke and all my video games were stolen, I started to cry and quoted “I will kill myself”, and so I almost did, until she got me a new computer. The computer never did help accommodate my confidence and once amorous feeling for life that diminished. After all that was through, I cried and wept for: What isn’t, what will not be, what can’t be and what I can’t be in life. Instead I should have rejoiced: I will try to be the best I can be, regardless, I have the potential! One thing you should never do, of course is: drugs, meth, cocaine, crack, or cigarettes; avoid at all cost! I have seen countless people throughout my life get high of drugs and end up in a prison, they used drugs to alleviate the depression, however, caused very many adverse reactions and they ended up even worse!

Spanning all the way back from 5th grade all the way to 10th grade I made all F’s and flunked horribly as a result of prevalent depression and morbid anxiety. Shortly after, I dropped out of 10th grade. My reason for dropping was that I was constantly threatened for my life and made fun of because I was aspergic. During the course of the year that I dropped out… I only mourned. Afterwards, I had a revelation, a epiphany if you will, and returned to school at the beginning of 11th grade. Now, that I am back I have already made up all the credits I lost and I am back in the game of life! I was originally in three remedial classes but within 1 week I was out of them and into normal classes with all A’s! All you need is a big uproar of gazelle intensity and pounce on the opportunity to raise your grades, never ever give up, put your mind to the task and you shall succeed. An honorable mention of a book would be Pursuit of Happyness, which tells of a boy with a dream and a hard start but makes his dream big!

Present day, I am happy and living with my mom. I never met my dad. But now, I am barking up the tree of a prestigious animal career and refining my academic skills that were damaged from middle school, and it’s going well! Heck, I couldn’t even complete a sentence in the beginning of the year… I have came a far way, and you can too! All life requires is effort. Life gives in what you put into it. If you do something worthy in life you will succeed, however, if you don’t do anything you will not! Most scientists predict that depression is caused by unfair parents, bad grades and foremost, friendship endings and broken relationships with girlfriends. Do what feels best for you, if you are unstable and depressed in the position you are in; change it! Some of the symptoms of depression are: crying, mourning, callous attitude and foremost, sick and loathing attitude. We don’t want you to have a panic or a myocardial infarction because of stress! The worst part is that parents usually find out too late! Always observe your kid and ask if he’s OK, or how his day was.

The fate of most depressed people, either it is over a pre-mature pregnancy, bad grades, horrid life, or a wrecked dream… never give up. The fate of most people today is committing suicide as a stress alleviator or committing some crime that they will regret forever (e.g., suicide, stealing, robbing, murder) just to name a few. Suicide should be omitted out of our minds and we should cleanse ourselves with calming thoughts. We live once; we must endeavor, and move on. If I would of made the decisions… where would I be today? Even through your past is morose… we can help others that suffer the same so they don’t make that fatal decision in life. No, it will not change the world, but it will certainly change the world in the eye of that child. One person can make a difference… as little or as measly as it may seem. I, after my horrible past, decided to help animals and humans with acts of altruism (writing and volunteering at shelters), it is very enticing and appeals to me. My goal is to be a vet… and even if I don’t accomplish that will I be sad? No, I will simply go for another animal career or biologist; however, I plan not to give up that dream too quickly. It is the “game of life” to chase our dream. Briefly put, teenagers worst nightmare is [NOT] reaching their future goal, or fear of failure and we should never give up on that, and encourage kids to dream for the stars.

If you ever contemplate suicide please call the suicide hotline for help (1-800-273-8255), personally there is no jurisdiction in the world that can justify suicide, it is just plain ludicrous. I also strongly recommend a psychiatrist for advanced and better help! Pets have been proven to calm nerves too; a family pet is always good for the family. Recreation and fun activities can also cleanse your mind of troubles. Always try new things, and explore new horizons, be the eagle and fly to boundless skies. For example, I help animal altruism and human altruism and try to help the humanity for the better; you can find fun hobbies too! Depression also leads to animal abuse, often linked to human abuse too. The most important thing we can do is keep negative sources and people away from our children. Together we can help cure depression!

Leave a Reply

